top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEvan Parkes

Plug in with Purple!

Updated: Jul 7, 2020



What if you could play poker with great clarity? No tilt, no frustration, little stress, and with ever-increasing focus. This is possible. What if you could live with peace, ease, and confidence? With an ever-decreasing amount of fear, negativity, and anxiety. This is possible. How do I know? Because that is how I now live. I am on a journey to give back, to serve, and to bring support, wisdom, and positivity to as many people as I can. I have created a new free course that is applicable and beneficial to everyone!

.

This is the first Plug-in with Purple session! This program will have 2 aspects; one will be the "BecomeTiltproof" aspect. This will deal directly with poker related problems and mindsets. The second half will be deep meditative/transformative contemplations that will allow us to begin observing our thought processes and habitual patterns.

.

I will set up different concepts to meditate on. These will be contemplations that I have meditated on for countless hours and which have greatly enhanced my behavior and experience. I will give you time to meditate on each subject. I will be here as your coach every step of the way. I will also directly answer any questions you may have to the best of my abilities. Please feel free to post the different thoughts and experiences you may have during each of these sessions. Finally, I will make a conclusion video on the topic I presented, explaining my personal opinions about their utility and importance.

.

Firstly we will be making an effort to enter into a concentrated, relaxed, open space mind which will come from a basic meditation routine. Once we have achieved this, we place an important concept or idea into the mind and we let it work its magic. By doing so consistently, we are beginning the process of awakening.

.

This process is completely different than just "thinking about things". This process is called contemplative thought. Some of the greatest ideas and inventions of all time have come from this deep contemplative state of mind.

.

Steps

.

- Find a quiet place.

- Set your phone timer to at least 15 minutes.

- Sit down in a comfortable position with your back straight and your chin tucked. (On a chair, the floor, or a meditation cushion)

-Place your hands on your lap or your knees.

-Set a clear intention in your mind to be COMPLETELY still until your timer goes off.

-Take 5 deep breaths

-Do 5 full-body scans. Start at the top of your head and focus your awareness as much as possible on scanning the whole body down to the tips of your toes, and then back up.

-Focus on your breathing where-ever it is natural to do so. (Tip of the nostrils, Lips, Chest, Stomach, etc)

-Count each out-breath starting from 1 to 10 and once you reach 10 starts the process all over again.

E.G( Breath in, Breath out, and at the end of the out-breath that is 1)

.

-Whenever you feel like you are ready it is time to add your contemplation. For this week we take the phrases "How does my state of mind affect my play in each session? During a session, does my mind trick me into making certain incorrect decisions based on an exploitative strategy that I am applying incorrectly? If so, how is it doing this?"

-Feel like you are just taking words and putting them into some open space in your mind and allow it to digest and process them.

.

-Pay attention to the thoughts and feelings that arise from this. You will most likely be taken down a thought train. Just watch these thoughts arise and try to see them as they are.

.

This practice is the most important thing I have ever done in my life. I started small 10-15 minutes a day but progressed to an hour after a year. I have now been meditating for 3 1/2 years and the benefits are unbelievable. I always thought exercise was the most important thing I could ever do for myself, but after meditating it pales in comparison. This practice is to be done as much as possible. The more you do, the more you will get back. It's as simple as that. Hard work pays off. So if you truly want to become someone who is capable of handling bad beats with ease and someone who plays poker with precision and focus, you have come to the right place! Please join me on my journey towards perfection in poker and in life. Believe it! You too can Become Tiltproof!

414 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page